Alumni Newsletter Mar 2005

Alumni Newsletter - March 2005

Allen awarded Sloan Research Fellowship

Heather Allen, assistant professor of chemistry, has been awarded a 2005 Sloan Research Fellowship. This award is intended to enhance the careers of the very best young faculty members in specified fields of science. Currently a total of 116 fellowships are awarded annually in seven fields: chemistry, computational and evolutionary molecular biology, computer science, economics, mathematics, neuroscience, and physics. Selection procedures for the Sloan Research Fellowships are designed to identify those who show the most outstanding promise of making fundamental contributions to new knowledge.

Frey named Chemistry Distinguished Alumnus

The Department of Chemistry has named Dr. Perry Frey as the recipient of its 2005 Distinguished Alumni Award. Dr. Frey, the Robert H. Abeles Professor of Biochemistry at the University of Wisconsin, earned his bachelor's degree in chemistry from Ohio State in 1959. MAPS faculty and staff are invited to a seminar and award presentation on Friday, April 22. Details will follow in the coming weeks.

CMR research spotlight – Richard McCreery

This week the work of Richard McCreery, professor of chemistry, is featured on the CMR Web site. McCreery's research interests include developing and applying spectroscopic probes of electrochemical processes, including novel molecular electronic junctions. More about Dr. McCreery's work

Periodically the research of a CMR affiliated faculty member will be highlighted in the CMR newsletter and on the CMR Web site under "Research Spotlight." The purpose of this feature is to stimulate and strengthen multidisciplinary collaborations among faculty

Paquette Symposium: April 9

The first Paquette Symposium on Synthetic Organic Chemistry will take place on Saturday, April 9 from 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. in McPherson Lab, 140 W. 18th Ave. The title of the symposium, which honors Dr. Leo Paquette, is "Advances in Organic Synthesis Inspired by Natural Products Chemistry." The invited speakers for the event are:
Professor Philip Fuchs, Purdue University
Professor Amos B. Smith III, University of Pennsylvania
Professor Eric Sorensen, Princeton University
Professor Richard Taylor, University of Notre Dame

There is no charge for attending the symposium. It is open to the public. More information on the Paquette Symposium