Devon Walter Meek Lecture

May 26, 2017
Thursday, November 8, 2018 - 4:10pm to 5:30pm
Friday, November 9, 2018 - 4:10pm to 5:30pm
CBEC 130
Peter S Kim

The 2018 Meek Lecture will feature Professor Peter S. Kim of Stanford. Check back soon for more information! You can find history of the Meek Lecture below...









2017 Meek Lecturer:
Dennis C. Liotta, Emory University

Thursday, November 16
4:10pm – Seminar in CBEC 130 

Novel Therapeutics for Treating Viral Diseases, Cancers and Inflammatory Disorders
Reception and both poster sessions to follow in CBEC Lobby/ CBEC 110 & 120

Friday, November 17
3:00pm – Graduate Student Seminars in CBEC 130
4:10pm – Dennis Liotta Seminar in CBEC 130

Discovery and Development of the  Anti-HIV Drug, Emtricitabine (Emtriva®, FTC)


Over the past two and a half decades Dr. Dennis Liotta’s research has focused on the discovery and development of novel antiviral, anticancer and anti-inflammatory therapeutic agents. He is recognized as one of the premier discoverers of novel therapeutics, having been one of the inventors associated with ten FDA approved therapeutics including Epivir, Combivir, Trizivir, Epzicom, Epivir-HBV, Emtriva, Truvada, Atripla, Complera and Stribid. In addition, he is the inventor of record for several clinically important antivirals, including Epivir, Reverset, Racivir and Elvucitabine. He is also the lead inventor of Q-122 (formerly known as MSX-122), a safe, orally available clinical agent for controlling hot flashes in post-menopausal women. In the preclinical arena his research group has recently discovered the first potent, dual tropic (CCR5/CXCR4) HIV entry inhibitor. In addition, in his current role as Executive Director of the Emory Institute for Drug Development, Dr. Liotta oversaw the discovery and development of a novel nucleoside analogue, EIDD-2023, for treating hepatitis C infections.

Dr. Liotta has authored over 250 peer reviewed publications and is an inventor on over 75 issued US patents. A company he founded, Pharmasset (acquired by Gilead Sciences) developed Sofosbuvir, which has become the first line therapy for treating (and perhaps curing) hepatitis C. In addition, he has founded numerous other companies including, inter alia: (a) Altiris (drugs for stem cell mobilization and as potential treatments for a variety of cancers); (b) Triangle Pharmaceuticals (developed emtricitabine and was subsequently acquired by Gilead Sciences); (c) NeurOp (therapies for treating ischemic conditions, such as stroke); (d) QUE Oncology, a joint venture owned by the University of Queensland and Emory, that is carrying out the Q-122 clinical trials (vide supra); and (e) DRIVE (Drug Innovation Ventures at Emory, a non-profit drug development company focused on the development of therapies for treating single stranded RNA virus infections, such as Dengue Fever, hepatitis C, influenza A and B, respiratory syncytial virus and various equine encephalitis viruses). DRIVE utilizes an innovative model that seeks to extract maximum value from therapeutic innovations discovered at Emory or elsewhere by efficiently advancing them into clinical trials.


The Devon Walter Meek Lectures

devon_walter_meek_headshot                    Devon Walter Meek

The Devon Walter Meek was born in Kentucky in 1936. He earned his bachelor's degree from Berea College in Kentucky in 1958, and master's and doctoral degrees in chemistry from the University of Illinois in 1960 and 1961, respectively. He joined the faculty of the Chemistry Department at The Ohio State University in 1961. After 27 years of dedicated service, Professor Meek retired on November 1, 1988, having also served as Chairman of the Department of Chemistry from 1977 to 1981 and from 1986 until his retirement. Dr. Meek passed away on December 7, 1988, at age 52.

Dr. Meek's research included studies of transition metal complexes, homogeneous catalysis and activation as well as stabilization of small molecules by transition metal complexes of polyphosphine ligands.

The Devon W. Meek Industrial Lectureship began in 1989. Faculty of the Chemistry Department choose a distinguished chemist who has impacted industry, who gives two lectures, one typically on a scientific topic of current social relevance. Also, as part of the Meek Lecture, undergraduate researchers in the Chemistry Department present their research to the faculty, staff, students and invited guests.

This Lectureship is designed to be an ongoing tribute to Dr. Meek's distinguished career of research, teaching, and service. It especially recognizes his untiring efforts to establish industrial/academic ties and to encourage students to pursue careers in chemistry.


Previous Lecturers:

2017- Dennis Liotta

2016 - Jim McGuire

2014 - Jay Keasling

2013 - Ray Goodrich

2012 - James Stevens

2011 - John Kozarich

2010 - Mark Hampden-Smith

2009 - William Nugent

2008 - Jeffrey Bricker

2007 - Allison Campbell

2006 - Duane Burnett

2005 - Carl F. Kohrt

List of Previous Lectures back to 1989.pdf