2010 Mack Award

2010 Mack Award Recipient - Dr. Chad A. Mirkin

Dr. Chad A. Mirkin

Dr. Chad A. Mirkin of Northwestern University has been chosen as the 2010 Mack Lecturer. The Mack Award will be held on Feb. 25th & 26th.


Chad A. Mirkin was born in Phoenix, Arizona in 1963. He received a B.S. degree in 1986 from Dickinson College, and a Ph.D. degree in 1989 from Pennsylvania State University. After an NSF postdoctoral fellowship at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology he became a chemistry professor at Northwestern University in 1991. He is currently the director of the International Institute for Nanotechnology, the George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry, Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, and Professor of Medicine.

Dr. Mirkin has been recognized for his accomplishments with over 50 national and international awards. These include the Lemelson-MIT Prize, Havinga Medal, the Gustavus John Esselen Award, the Biomedical Engineering Society's Distinguished Achievement Award, a Department of Defense NSSEFF Award, the Pittsburgh Analytical Chemistry Award, the ACS Inorganic Nanoscience Award, the iCON Innovator of the Year Award, a NIH Director’s Pioneer Award, the Collegiate Inventors Award, the National Inventors Hall of Fame (2002, 2004), an Honorary Doctorate Degree from Dickinson College, the Pennsylvania State University Outstanding Science Alumni Award, the ACS Nobel Laureate Signature Award for Graduate Education in Chemistry, a Dickinson College Metzger-Conway Fellowship, the 2003 Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize in the Physical Sciences, the Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology, the Leo Hendrick Baekeland Award, Crain’s Chicago Business “40 under 40 Award,” the Discover 2000 Award for Technological Innovation, I-Street Magazine’s Top 5 List for Leading Academics in Technology, the Materials Research Society Young Investigator Award, the ACS Award in Pure Chemistry, the PLU Fresenius Award, the Harvard University E. Bright Wilson Prize, the BF Goodrich Collegiate Inventors Award, the Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Award, the DuPont Young Professor Award, the NSF Young Investigator Award, the Naval Young Investigator Award, the Beckman Young Investigator Award, and the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation New Faculty Award.


Professor Mirkin is a chemist and a world renowned nanoscience expert, who is known for his development of nanoparticle-based biodetection schemes, the invention of Dip-Pen Nanolithography, and contributions to supramolecular chemistry, nanoelectronics and nanooptics. He is the author of over 380 manuscripts and over 350 patents and applications, and the founder of two companies, Nanosphere and NanoInk, which are commercializing nanotechnology applications in the life science and semiconductor industries. Currently, he is listed as the third most cited chemist in the world, and is the top most cited nanomedicine researcher in the world. At present, he is a member of the President Obama's Council of Advisors for Science and Technology.

. Group Page

Mack Activities Schedule

Thursday, Feb 25th

3:30 - 4:00 Meet and Greet with Dr. Mirkin (2136 NW)
4:00 - 4:15 Refreshments/Snacks (1008 EL)
4:15 - 5:30 Lecture 1: Programming Materials Synthesis with DNA: Applications in Biology and Medicine (1008 EL)
5:30 - 7:00 Cocktail Hour (Faculty Club)
7:00 - Mack Banquet & Award Presentation (Faculty Club)

Friday, Feb 26th

4:00 - 4:30 Meet and Greet with Dr. Mirkin (2136 NW)
4:30 - 4:45 Refreshments/Snacks (1008 EL)
4:45 - 6:00 Lecture 2: Unconventional Approaches to Nanofabrication(1008 EL)

Banquet Information

The Mack Award Banquet will be held on Thursday, February 25th at the Faculty Club (map) beginning immediately after the first Mack Lecture . You can purchase tickets to the Mack Banquet outside of 1110 NW Tuesday, Feb. 23rd and Wednesday, Feb. 24th from 11:00am to 1:00pm and Thursday, Feb. 25th from 12:00pm to 2:00pm. Tickets are limited so get yours before they run out!

Lecture Abstracts

Lecture 1: Programming Materials Synthesis with DNA: Applications in Biology and Medicine

Lecture 2: Unconventional Approaches to Nanofabrication

2010 Mack Award Committee Members

  1. Lauren Joyce (co-chair) mackaward@chemistry.ohio-state.edu
  2. Christine Lemon (co-chair) mackaward@chemistry.ohio-state.edu
  3. Dan Carper
  4. Tricia Meyer
  5. Andrew Petit