2011 Mack Award

Voting for the 2012 Mack Award

The Mack Award Committee, after careful consideration of all nominees for the 50th Mack Award is pleased to announce that Charles Lieber, Andreas Stein, Don Tilley, Michael Wasielewski, and Sunney Xie are to be submitted for balloting for the 50th Mack Award. The voting commences May 31st and end June 6th. You can vote at the following link: https://web.chemistry.ohio-state.edu/node/add/mack-award-vote.


Vincent Rotello received his BS from Illinois Institute of Technology in 1985, and earned his MS and Ph.D. from Yale in 1986 and 1990, respectively. Dr. Rotello was a recipient of a NIH post-doctoral fellowship and conducted research at MIT until 1993 when he was hired as an assistant professor at University of Massachusetts - Amherst where he has remained through his career, being promoted in 1998 to associate professor, and again in 2001 to full professor. Dr. Rotello is currently the Charles A. Goessmann Professor of Chemistry, a title he has held since 2005. Professor Rotello is involved in both the polymer science & engineering, and also the molecular & cell biology divisions at UMass - Amherst.

In addition to his NIH post-doctoral fellowship, Professor Rotello has earn several awards, including an NSF Career award, the Lilly Teaching Fellow, John Burlew Award in Research from the American Chemical Society, he was Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar and also a Alfred P. Sloan Fellow. Recently, Professor Rotello was named a fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry in the United Kingdom, and a fellow in the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Professor Rotello has been honored with over fifteen invited lectureships and has served the community through several editorial boards.


Professor Rotello is active at the interface of biology and polymer science, focusing on supermolecular non-covalent interactions between polymers and proteins. He is also investigating DNA recognition of charged nanoparticles and formation of stable complexes thereof. Professor Rotello is also developing supermolecular drug and gene carriers. Dr. Rotello's research has produced nearly 300 publications, the Rotello group page can be viewed here: http://www.umass.edu/rotellogroup/.

Lecture Abstracts and Schedules

Lecture for February 24th

3:45 - 4:10 Meet and Greet - 2136 NM

4:15 - 5:25 Lecture 1 -1008 EL (Drinks and Snacks provided)

Nanoparticles in Biology: Engineering the Interface for Sensing and Delivery

A key issue in the use of nanomaterials is controlling how they interact with themselves and with the outer world. Our research program focuses on the tailoring of nanoparticles of surfaces for a variety of applications, coupling the atomic-level control provided by organic synthesis with the fundamental principles of supramolecular chemistry. Using these tailored monolayers, we are developing particles for biological applications, in particular delivery and sensing. This talk will focus on the interfacing of nanoparticles with biosystems, and will discuss our use of nanoparticles for delivery applications as well as our use of polymer- and fluorescent protein-nanoparticle systems for sensing and identification of proteins, bacteria and cancer cells.

Lecture for February 25th

3:45 - 4:20 Meet and Greet - 2136 NM

4:20 - 5:25 Lecture 2 -1008 EL (Drinks and Snacks provided)

Nanoparticles as Scaffolds and Supramolecular Building Blocks

Nanoparticles provide a versatile intermediate between the molecular and macroscopic worlds. In our research, we are using nanoparticles as scaffolds, using synthetic chemistry to create functional systems. These functionalized nanoparticles can then be assembled using the principles of supramolecular chemistry to generate surfaces and nanocomposites materials for a wide array of applications. This talk will focus on fundamental aspects of nanoparticle functionalization and assembly, as well as materials and biological applications of these systems.

Henne Research Competition

Each graduate student at Ohio State is given the opportunity to submit a written summary of research performed while pursuing their degree at Ohio State. A panel of judges evaluates the work and three finalists are chosen to each give seminars on their work-to-date to a panel of judges selected from friends Ohio State, the Mack Lecturer, and their peers. The finalists for the Henne Graduate Research Competition are (in alphabetical order): Chandrani Chatterjee (Chisholm), Brandon Sullivan (Magliery), and Brenda Wray (Stambuli).

The panel of judges are Assistant Professors Carrie Hayes (Otterbein), Kerry Rouhier (Kenyon), and Joe Reczek (Denison)

The seminars will be held on Thursday, February 24th at 9:30 A.M. in 2015 McPherson. The winner will receive $1000 while the two runners up will receive each $750. The award will be announced at the Mack Banquet.


Banquet Information

The Mack Award Banquet will be held immediately following the first lecture at the Faculty Club on February 24th, with a cocktail hour from 5:30 - 7:00, and dinner served at 7:00. The presentation of the Henne and John S. Swenton teaching awards along with presentation of Professor Rotello with the Mack award will conclude the dinner. Tickets will be available on a first-come, first-served basis between 11:00 and 1:00 on Tuesday the 22nd through Thursday the 24th in the Newman and Wolfram 1st floor main hallway.

2011 Mack Award Committee

  1. Christine Lemon - Chair mackaward@chemistry.ohio-state.edu
  2. Samantha Brown
  3. Tricia Meyer
  4. Jordan Page
  5. Andrew Petit
  6. Bo Wu

Note:This lecture was made possible by financial support from the Dr. Robert H. Lawrence Jr. Endowed Fund in Chemistry, the Dr. Kurt L. Loening Endowment Fund in Chemical Nomenclature and Chemical Information, the Chemistry Lecture Fund, as well as numerous other donors.