Edward Mack, Jr. Lecture

December 1, 2016
Thursday, March 9, 2017 - 4:30pm
Friday, March 10, 2017 - 11:30am
David W. C. Macmillan

2017 Mack Lecture: Professor David MacMillan

The Mack Lecture is organized by our student-run group, Chem TALKS. You can find more information on Chem TALKS and the Mack Lecture here

Dave MacMillan was born in Bellshill, Scotland and received his undergraduate degree in chemistry at the University of Glasgow, where he worked with Dr. Ernie Colvin. In 1990, he began his doctoral studies under the direction of Professor Larry Overman at the University of California, Irvine, before undertaking a postdoctoral position with Professor Dave Evans at Harvard University (1996). He began his independent career at University of California, Berkeley in July of 1998 before moving to Caltech in June of 2000 (Earle C. Anthony Chair of Organic Chemistry). In 2006, Dave moved to the east coast of the US to take up the position of James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor at Princeton University and he served as Department Chair from 2010-15.  To date he has trained nearly 200 co-workers (55 graduate students, 145 postdoctoral coworkers), and has placed over 40 members of his group into academia around the world.

Dave has received several awards including the Janssen Pharmaceutica Prize (2016), Max Tischler Prize Harvard (2016), Ernst Schering Award in Biology, Chemistry and Medicine, Germany (2015), ACS Harrison Howe Award (2014), NJ ACS Molecular Design Award (2014), ACS Award for Creativity in Synthesis (2011), the Mitsui Catalysis Award (2011), ACS Cope Scholar Award (2007), ACS EJ Corey Award (2005), the Corday-Morgan Medal (2005).

In 2012 Dave became a Fellow of the Royal Society (FRS) and a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Dave helped launch and was editor-in-chief of Chemical Sciences (2009-2014) and is currently Chair of the NIH Study Section SBCA.

Dave is a scientific consultant with Merck (worldwide), Amgen (worldwide), Biogen Biopharma, Abbvie Research Laboratories, Takeda Pharmaceuticals, Johnson & Johnson Pharmaceuticals, UCB-Celtech, Constellation Pharmaceuticals and Gilead Research Laboratories.  Dave is also a member of the scientific advisory boards of Firmenich (Switzerland) and Kadmon Pharmaceuticals (US), and a permanent member of the RSRC board at Merck Research Laboratories.  

Along with Dr. Paul Reider, Dave is a co-founder of Chiromics LLC, a growing biotech that seeks to devise new strategies and screening techniques for the identification of drug-like molecules.  


March 9, 2017 - 4:30pm, CBEC 130 "Why does the world need new chemistry and new catalysts?"

March 10, 2017 - 11:30am, MP 1015 "New Photoredox Reactions"


The Edward Mack, Jr. Lectures

Edward Mack Jr Headshot

Professor Edward Mack, Jr. was a long time faculty member of the Chemistry Department at The Ohio State University. After fourteen years as chairman, he resigned in October, 1955, to be devoted full time to teaching and research. Not long thereafter his friends and former students learned of his death in June, 1956.

Professor Mack's research interests included the determina- tion of the sizes and shapes of molecules from collision cross-sections using kinetic gas measurements. He also studied the rates and mechanisms of gas phase reactions, surface films, and biochemical problems. Professor Mack is remembered as a man of great energy and enthusiasm for research as well as his students.

Professor Mack became a member of the faculty at Ohio State in 1919 when he immediately began to take a personal interest in graduate students. He was their continual advocate, aiding his students through difficult years by soliciting grants from many companies and businesses. In many cases, he even took funds out of his own pocket for their support. Professor Mack was entirely dedicated to his graduate students, both scientifically and personally. In this spirit, the graduate students are responsible for every aspect of the Mack Memorial Award.

Graduate Students participate in the Mack Memorial Award by serving on the Mack Award's committee, nominating individuals, voting for the Mack Award recipient, and, of course, for attending the talks and joining the celebration.

Previous Lecturers:

2016 - Omar Yaghi

2015 - George Whitesides

2014 - Robert S. Langer

2013 - T. Don Tilley

2012 - Sunney Xie

2011 - Vincent Rotello

2010 - Chad A. Mirkin

Note: This lecture was made possible by financial support from the Dr. Robert H. Lawrence Jr. Endowed Fund in Chemistry, the Dr. Kurt L. Loening Endowment Fund in Chemical Nomenclature and Chemical Information, the Chemistry Lecture Fund, as well as numerous other donors.