William Lloyd Evans Lecture

November 14, 2016
Wednesday, September 26, 2018 - 4:10pm
McPherson Laboratory 1000
Judith Klinman

Evans Lecture Day 1

Judith P. Klinman - UC Berkeley

Wednesday, September 26
4:10pm in McPherson Lab 1000
"New Models for Origins of Enzyme Catalysis"

5:15 to 7:00pm in CBEC Lobby
Dow Graduate Student Poster Competition and reception
- The reception will be catered by Aladdin's Eatery

Evans Lecture Day 2

Thursday, September 27
11:00am in Stillman Hall 100
Dow Graduate Student Seminars
- Pizza provided at the event

12:45pm in Stillman Hall 100
"Scientists and Climate Change: The Time is Now"

 Dr. Klinman received her A.B. and Ph. D. from the University of Pennsylvania in 1962 and 1966 and then carried out  postdoctoral research with Dr. David  Samuel at the Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel, and Dr. Irwin Rose at the Institute for Cancer Research, Philadelphia. She was an independent researcher at the Institute for Cancer Research for several years, before moving to the University of California at Berkeley in 1978, where she is now a Professor of the Graduate School in the Department of Chemistry, the Department of Molecular and Cell Biology, and the California Institute for Quantitative Biosciences (QB3).
        Dr. Klinman has been focused on understanding the fundamental properties that underlie enzyme catalysis. Early in her career, she developed the application of kinetic isotope effects to the study of enzyme catalysis. In 1990, she demonstrated the presence of the neurotoxin, 6-hydroxydopa quinone (referred to as TPQ), at the active site of a copper-containing amine oxidase from bovine plasma, overcoming years of incorrect speculation regarding the nature of the active site structure and opening up the field of protein-derived quino-cofactors. Subsequent work from her group showed that the extracellular protein lysyl oxidase, responsible for collagen and elastin cross-linking, contains a lysine cross-linked variant of TPQ, while mechanistic probes advanced knowledge of cofactor biogenesis and catalysis in the copper amine oxidases. Most recent work is focused on unraveling the enigmatic pathway for production of the free-standing bacterial cofactor/vitamin, pyrroloquinoline quinone.


History of The William Lloyd Evans Lectures


The Evans Lecture at Ohio State University was established in 1961 upon the dedication of Evans Laboratory, in recognition of the late William Lloyd Evans for his distinguished service to the Department of Chemistry. Each year, a faculty committee has been charged with selecting a chemist of outstanding international stature to receive the Evans Award and present the Evans Lecture.

William Lloyd Evans (b. 1871) received his M.S. degree in 1896 from Ohio State and joined the Chemistry Department faculty in 1905 after having received his Ph.D. degree that year under Professor Ulric Nef at the University of Chicago. As an Assistant Professor in charge of the course in General Chemistry, “Billy” Evans was soon recognized as an especially effective and inspiring teacher. He rose to the rank of Full Professor in 1911, and his service to the Department was interrupted only by a two-year period of military service during World War I at Edgewood Arsenal. In 1928, he was named Chairman, succeeding Professor William McPherson.

During his tenure as Chairman, a post that he held until 1941, he guided the Department toward increased emphasis on graduate research. He encouraged the development of a strong research-oriented faculty and the expansion of research through involvement of outside industry and government agencies in sponsored programs. Following his retirement in 1941, Professor Evans was elected President of the American Chemical Society, and he continued his work in chemistry during active retirement until his death in 1954 at the age of 83.

Previous Lecturers:

2016 - Daniel Nocera

2015 - Angela Gronenborn

2014 - Carol Robinson

2013 - Jacqueline K. Barton

2012 - Chris Dobson

2011 - Sumio Iijima

2010 - Carolyn Bertozzi

2009 - Professor W. E. Moerner

2008 - Doug Rees

PDF icon List of Previous Lectures back to 1962.pdf

Note: This lecture was made possible by financial support from the Dr. Robert H. Lawrence Jr. Endowed Fund in Chemistry, the Dr. Kurt L. Loening Endowment Fund in Chemical Nomenclature and Chemical Information, the Chemistry Lecture Fund, as well as numerous other donors.