Paquette Symposium

CBEC Building
May 9, 2019
All Day
130 CBEC


CBC welcomes 2019 Speakers! 

Justin Du Bois, Stanford University
Marisa Kozlowski, University of Pennsylvania 
Brian Stoltz, California Institute of Technology

RSVP for the Paquette Legacy Symposium today!

1:30 - 2:30 p.m.

Prof. Du Bois Seminar: Making Functional Groups from C-H Bonds

2:30 - 3:30 p.m.

Prof. Kozlowski Seminar: Oxygen Driven Fragment Coupling by Activation of C-H, N-H, and O-H

3:30 - 4:00 p.m.

Coffee break in CBEC Lobby

4:00 - 5:00 p.m.

Prof. Stoltz Seminar: Complex Natural Products as a Driving Force for Discovery in Organic Chemistry

5:00 - 6:30 p.m.

Reception in CBEC Lobby


Leo Paquette Legacy Symposium

Leo A. Paquette was born in Worcester, MA. He received his B.S. degree from Holy Cross College in 1956 and his Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry from MIT in 1959. After serving as a Research Associate at the Upjohn Company from 1959 to 1963, he joined the faculty of The Ohio State University. He was promoted to full professor in 1969, held the Kimberly Professorship from 1981-1987 and was named Distinguished University Professor in 1987.

A member of the National Academy of Sciences since 1984, Dr. Paquette has been a Visiting Professor at institutions across the United States and Europe. He has served on advisory committees of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Science Foundation (NSF). He has been a member of the editorial boards of numerous publications including the Journal of Organic Chemistry, Journal of the American Chemical Society, Organic Syntheses, Organic Reactions, and served as the Editor-in-Chief of the Electronic Encyclopedia of Organic Reagents (eEros).

Dr. Paquette’s honors include the Sloan Fellowship, Guggenheim Fellowship, ACS Award for Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award of the ACS, S.T. Li prize for Science and Technology, and he was chosen as the Centenary Lecturer of the Royal Chemical Society. He has been a fellow of the Japanese Society for the Promotion of Science, and has been selected as the Plenary Lecturer for more than a dozen international conferences. He is also the recipient of an honorary doctorate from his alma mater.

In the field of hydrocarbon chemistry, Dr. Paquette is best known for achieving the first total synthesis of the Platonic solid dodecahedrane in 1982, which still stands as one of the landmark achievements in the history of organic synthesis and hydrocarbon chemistry.

Previous Paquette Legacy Symposium Speakers: 

2006 – Dean Toste, Gary Molander, William Nugent, Larry Overman

2007 – Anthony Haight, Rob Maleczka, David Williams, George O’Doherty

2008 – Ian Davies, Jeff Johnston, Marvin Miller, Scott Nelson

2009 – Michael Martinelli, Stephen Buchwald, Dennis Liotta, Christina White

2010 – Chris Senanayake, Michael Detty, John Wood, Jon Parquette

2011 – Al Padwa, James Panek, Paul Ornstein, Craig Forsyth

2012 – Thomas Hoye, Andrew Myers, Tom Engler, Jovica Badjic

2013 – Steve Burke, Jeff Winkler, Steve Wittenberger, Dehua Pei

2014 – Eric Jacobsen, Peter Wipf, Scott Edmondson

2015 – Sergey Kozmin, Emily Balskus, Michael Crimmins

2016 – Jennifer Schomaker, Louis Barriault, Tomislav Rovis

2017 – Dan Weix, L.-C. Campeau, Vy Dong

2018 –  Dan Little, Dmitri Pissarnitski, Craig Forsyth

Events Filters: