SURE Schedule

The 2019 SURE schedule is forthcoming.

The format will be similar to the 2018 schedule, which is detailed below.

Program Calendar

Sunday, May 20, 2018
Arrival
Check in at the Smith Steeb front desk at 80 West 11th Avenue anytime after 3 pm to get your room key and move in. You’ll receive your room assignment at that time.

Monday, May 21, 2018
Orientation
8:15 am, 0050 Jennings Hall
Human Resources Orientation
10:00 am, 0040 Jennings Hall
Lab Orientation and Safety Training
10:30 am
Campus tour and parking info
12:00 pm, Faculty Club
Lunch with training faculty or student mentors
Afternoon
Tour of campus, department and lab with student mentor
Also, go to the Ohio Union to get your BuckID after lunch.

Tuesday, May 22, 2018
9:00 am (or TBD with faculty PI), assigned lab
Meet with faculty or student mentor to get started.  You should discuss your exact meeting time and work hours with your mentor.

Friday, May 25, 2018
4:00 pm, 230 CBEC
Workshop: Program Introduction and Keeping a Good Lab Notebook (Magliery)
5:30 pm
Program social hour at World of Beer, Gateway District, 1568 N. High St.
Interns, training faculty and student mentors are welcome

Friday, Jun. 1, 2018
12:00 pm, 230 CBEC
Workshop: Responsible Conduct of Research (Magliery, Co, Schultz)

Friday, Jun. 8, 2018
12:00 pm, 230 CBEC
Workshop: Proposal Discussions (Magliery)
You must bring a 1-page summary of your project that should briefly address background, overall question/plan, specific aims, innovation, and significance.

Friday, Jun. 15, 2018
3:30 pm, Biomedical Research Tower, 2nd floor (meet in lobby at 3:25 pm)
Tour: Campus Microscopy & Imaging Facility and Campus Chemical Instrumentation Center
Tour of microscopy, imaging, mass spectrometry, NMR and X-ray source facilities

Friday, Jun. 22, 2018
3:00 pm, 2015 McPherson
Four Minute Research Presentations (all training faculty)
5:30 pm
Social hour, location TBD

Friday, Jun. 29, 2018
3:00 pm, 609 Biological Sciences Building
Applying to Graduate School with Graduate Studies Committee Chairs
Joint with the Molecular Genetics/Biochemistry REU Program

Friday, Jul. 6, 2018
12:00 pm, 230 CBEC
Workshop: Preparing a Research Poster (Sevov)

Friday, Jul. 13, 2018
12:00 pm, 773 BioSci
Workshop: Giving a Good Research Presentation (Gopalan)

Friday, Jul. 20, 2018
3:00 pm, 230 CBEC
Practice Presentations (Magliery and student mentors)

Wednesday, Jul. 25, 2018
10:00 am-1:30 pm, 130 CBEC and CBEC Lobby
Capstone Event
Welcome, morning presentations by students, poster session, and lunch
Faculty, chairs and deans or provosts from OSU and the Ohio 5 colleges will join for this event

Friday, Jul. 27, 2018
12:00 pm, location TBA
Program Lunch

Saturday, Jul. 28, 2018
Move-out and departure

0