Dr. Turro Receives 2016 Morley Medal

April 12, 2016
Head shot of Dr. Claudia Turro
Congrats to Prof. Claudia Turro, the recipient of the 2106 Edward W. Morley Medal sponsored by the Cleveland Section of the American Chemical Society!

Congratulations to our Denman Award Winners!

April 5, 2016
Chemistry and Biochemistry Logo

Biochemistry Category Winners

1st place: Lahiru Wimalasena - Biochemistry; Advisor: Marcos Sotomayor 

1st place: Kyle Shafer Biochemistry; Advisor: Dmitri Kudryashov

Marcos Sotomayor's NIH R01 Grant Approved

March 29, 2016
Head shot of Marcos Sotomayor

Dr. Sotomayor received his first NIH R01 grant this month. The proposed work, now funded by the National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIH NIDCD) for five years, focusses on the nanomechanics of inner-ear tip link proteins essential for hearing and balance.